If you’re that hypersensitive about color and don’t have a sense of humor….

Dr. Laura Schlessinger used the “N” word 11 times in 5 minutes during her radio show. Going off on what appears to be a racist rant, according to many who’ve listened to it, with a woman who had called in to find out how to get advice on how to get along with her husband who’s is a different race. Dr. Laura has now issued an apology and also stated that her radio show is ending….

“My contract is up for my radio show at the end of the year and I’ve made the decision not to do radio anymore,” Laura Schlessinger (KTTH m-f, 9p-12a) told Larry King. “The reason is I want to regain my First Amendment rights. I want to be able to say what’s on my mind and in my heart and what I think is helpful and useful without somebody getting angry, some special interest group deciding this is the time to silence a voice of dissent and attack affiliates, attack sponsors. I’m sort of done with that.”

What do you think? Was she out of line? Or misunderstood?  The transcript is below….

Caller: OK. Last night – good example – we had a neighbor come over, and this neighbor – when every time he comes over, it’s always a black comment. It’s, “Oh, well, how do you black people like doing this?” And, “Do black people really like doing that?” And for a long time, I would ignore it. But last night, I got to the point where it –

Schlessinger: I don’t think that’s racist.

Caller: Well, the stereotype –

Schlessinger: I don’t think that’s racist. No, I think that –

Caller: [unintelligible]

Schlessinger: No, no, no. I think that’s – well, listen, without giving much thought, a lot of blacks voted for Obama simply ’cause he was half-black. Didn’t matter what he was gonna do in office, it was a black thing. You gotta know that. That’s not a surprise. Not everything that somebody says – we had friends over the other day; we got about 35 people here – the guys who were gonna start playing basketball. I was going to go out and play basketball. My bodyguard and my dear friend is a black man. And I said, “White men can’t jump; I want you on my team.” That was racist? That was funny.

Caller: How about the N-word? So, the N-word’s been thrown around –

Schlessinger: Black guys use it all the time. Turn on HBO, listen to a black comic, and all you hear is n*****, n*****, n*****.

Caller: That isn’t –

Schlessinger: I don’t get it. If anybody without enough melanin says it, it’s a horrible thing; but when black people say it, it’s affectionate. It’s very confusing. Don’t hang up, I want to talk to you some more. Don’t go away.

I’m Dr. Laura Schlessinger. I’ll be right back.

After taking a commercial break, Schlessinger resumed her discussion with the caller:

Schlessinger: I’m Dr. Laura Schlessinger, talking to Jade. What did you think about during the break, by the way?

Caller: I was a little caught back by the N-word that you spewed out, I have to be honest with you. But my point is, race relations –

Schlessinger: Oh, then I guess you don’t watch HBO or listen to any black comedians.

Caller: But that doesn’t make it right. I mean, race is a [unintelligible] –

Schlessinger: My dear, my dear –

Caller: – since Obama’s been in office –

Schlessinger: – the point I’m trying to make –

Caller: – racism has come to another level that’s unacceptable.

Schlessinger: Yeah. We’ve got a black man as president, and we have more complaining about racism than ever. I mean, I think that’s hilarious.

Continue reading…..

One thought on “If you’re that hypersensitive about color and don’t have a sense of humor….

  1. Pingback: World Wide News Flash

Leave a Reply

