Arrest Made in Beating Death of Housewives former Fiancé

kandi_and_aj_call_off_engagement

RIP AJ

A man has been arrested in connection with the beating death of Ashley Jewell, the fiancé of Kandi Burruss, a castmember of Bravo’s Real Housewives of Atlanta

Homicide detectives arrested the suspect, Fredrick Richardson, who has been charged with voluntary manslaughter, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution reports.

Jewell, 34, known as A.J., appeared regularly on the hit reality show, often clashing with Burruss’s mother. He died of massive head injuries sustained while in a fight in the parking lot of an Atlanta strip bar called the Body Tap Club.

“Kandi is devastated as she is also mourning the death of her uncle, Ralph Leslie, and is attending his funeral today,” TreMedia said in a statement on behalf of the reality star Saturday. “She has no statement to make at this time and asks for privacy. There are no final details on the death of AJ.”

Richardson was hospitalized with injuries he received during in the altercation, but will be jailed once he’s released by medical staff.

Authorities are “trying to figure out [what happened],” Atlanta police spokesman Officer James Polite told the newspaper. “We had a pretty good number of witnesses that are being cooperative.”

According to police, Jewell worked at the club but he did not know in what capacity.

Burruss reacted to the death with the following messages on her Twitter page:

• im just in one of those moods where i dont wanna talk, i dont wanna b held & told its gonna b ok. i just wanna cry myself 2 sleep, alone.

• I could never n a million years imagine this happening. please pray for AJ’s children. that’s who im the most concerned 4.

• im bout 2 giv my swollen eyes sum rest now. i just wanted to say thanks 2 every1 for their prayers. i gotta get up & go 2 my uncle’s funeral

Burruss’s publicist Lisa Nelson told the Atlanta TV station that Burruss, 33, a singer-songwriter who recorded with the band Xscape and worked with TLC and Mariah Carey, was “stunned and speechless” when told the news.

source:  People.com

5 thoughts on “Arrest Made in Beating Death of Housewives former Fiancé

  1. I am sorry for Kandi’s lost. I hope she is able to mourn without the media disturbing that time. It is a sad time in her life. We as fans must allow her this time to begin the healing process. Let’s also remember the children that are left fatherless. Aj’s family as well.

    May God be with you all!

  2. I FEEL REALLY BAD THAT HE HAD TO GO IN THAT MANNER.I COULDN’T DO NOTHING BUT CRY WHEN I HEARD THE NEWS CAUSE I AM A BUG FAN OF THE SHOW, AND IT FELT LIKE I REALLY KNEW HER AND SHE WAS MY CLOSE FRIEND. I HOPE SEE SEEK PEACE AND CALMITY AND I HOPR THE MEDIA JUST GINE HER A BREAK AT THIS PARTICULAR TIME. I WISH HER WELL!!!!!!

  3. Kandie my heart & prayers are with you & CJ’s family. I watch the show and think that you are the sweetist person. You seem to be for the outcast, and with that being said, you will go a long way in your career. Stay close to your mother, stay in prayer.

  4. Kandie my heart & prayers are with you & AJ’s family. I watch the show and think that you are the sweetist person. It touched my heart when you were willing to help Kim with her singing career when everyone else was talking about her. You are a woman after my own heart, because I am the type that is always for the underdog.(they need love too). Keep you head up, stay in prayer and you will be fine.
    Always, always stay close to you mother, she only want’s the best for you.

  5. Kandi, I know everybody is feeling bad for you, but I feel bad for AJ. Lets not forget that your mother did not like him, as a matter of fact she hated him. And a lot of people think that she went to the root man and put out bad luck on him to get him away from you,that is so sad that she had to do such a thing, now this man is dead because of her nastness … shame on you kandi … but in the end, god will prevail and you and your mother will live to regret what she has done. God bless you AJ.

Leave a Reply

