Principal Steve Perry

20090122-a-1
So I watched Black in America 2 last night and Wednesday night. The one person who stood out the most was Principal Steve Perry. Mr. Perry was born to a teenage mother and raised in public housing. He received his masters in social work from the University of Pennsylvania and his undergraduate degree from the University of Rhode Island. Husband and father of tow sons he has worked for various politicians (US Senators, Mayors and presidential candidates) and as the director for a homeless shelter. Mr. Perry is the principal and founder of the Capital Preparatory Magnet School in Hartford, CT. A school that prepares low-income high school students for college. The amount of love and effort he puts into his school is incredible. To hear him say that over 90% if not all of the children that graduate from his Connecticut Magnet school go to college is phenomenal!

23 thoughts on “Principal Steve Perry

  1. YES!!!!! I was very impressed with Principal Perry’s personal and professional accomplishments. We need more educators with his passion and dedication to push our kids to excellence. We need more magnet schools such as the Capital Preparatory Magnet School in Hartford, CT. These students will truly be prepared for the world that awaits them…… Great job Mr. Perry!!

  2. Perry was just as magnificent and on target, when I encountered him in grad sch at Penn. He was a visionary, and an encouragement to me, who returned to school after being in the field of Social work for 34yrs. I was at an all time low professionally and needed a pick-up, which Penn’s Sch of S.W. and a young student named Perry provided me. Perry had a fervor about whatever he contributed to the class, it was at times, not in line with the current practices, but innovative and promising. He gave me hope that all was not lost in the field of SW. Perry is highly favored, and is working the plan that God set for him. I will keep him in prayer . I Hope he will train others to set-up and delivery positive outcome educational systems for our children. Keep-on-keeping on with God’s plan, keep the faith as Travis would tell you, from the gray headed student from the class of 1995, who was often times older then the professors and a grandmother figure to my fellow class mates.

  3. What a mgnificent and moving story of success in the face of adversity– the marvelous persistence of Principal Perry and his compelling dedication to the task of education. I thought that the “stars” of the film, those charming students who fought their way to success despite delinquent parents, provide hope for all aspiring to overcome their backgrounds. This story and its intrepid leaders, should be given hero-status by CNN and used as a model for educators everywhere. Many of those teachers who achieve 100% college entrance success deserve more exposure too.
    Anthony Buzzard

  4. Principal Perry definitely stood out for me. Wow to hear someone blame the unions for protecting low achieving teachers who are not educating our kids. Someone pls clone Steve Perry. He is the truth!

  5. I heard the Principal talk about stabilizing bridges so I wanted to know if he was part of a Fraternity in his undergraduate years.

  6. Perry is performing a very dangerous role as a black man who shows what works. You have to care and then share that care. Take away the excuses and teach the student to stand and perform. Show the kid how to operate in the world and not be of it.

    We need more principals like Mr. Perry. We need more people willing to benefit a kid and not for money. We don’t need 6 month mentors but year after year mentors.

  7. Hi. Mr. Perry I just saw you in the past hour, about 10.30 am, Jan 9/09, on CNN. There is an short article at the URL listed above, http:/way.to/Education , on this subject, except it takes a solution to this problem a little further, if you care to to go there. Tx, Leslie

  8. Hi Steve,
    I have the insight to create millions of jobs, although I am presently unknown I consider myself a black Inventor, I have no physical prototypes, but I do have the technical expertise to make them work. I have work in the capacity as a non degreed electronic engineer as an electronic engineering technician. I am writing you this email so that you know that a person like me exist, who wants society to benefit from my insight. I am presently working on a website where I can explain the solutions that to education, environment, employment, and youth crime and health care. I do not care for personal recognition, but I do care for riches in that, as a means to improve society. I want this gift of insight to beneficial society. I know that this might seem a strange request; I would like to form a partnership.

    Cedar Rapids, Iowa

  9. So you all appear to be buying into this man’s thinking. Can you not see past the hype and into the substance of his messages? Are you all sheep being aimlessly led by someone with flashy clothes and authority in his voice?

    How much time has Dr. Steve spent teaching in a classroom? No one seems to be questioning that. He has experience and a degree in social work. Social work =/= knowledge about the world of education.

    Trying to blame the majority of teacher problems on unions? I teach and I don’t belong to a union. Let me tell you the way I see his arguments.

    So he’s a big believer in “pay for performance.” On CNN, he is dismissive of home problems and a host of other “real world” issues that affect teachers. Have you ever heard of the cliche “you can lead a horse to water, but you can’t make him drink.” Well, that is EXACTLY the way teaching turns out, in many instances.

    You can be the best, most interesting, informed, cutting-edge teacher out there…and there are kids you just can’t reach. How can you–when they are starving or abused from home? To wave a hand and dismiss these factors is naivety and ignorance at its best, “Dr.” Steve.

    Further, you didn’t address the problems of special education in your little CNN interview, Steve. Do you even have any special ed students at your so-called magnet school? To base a teacher’s pay on whether or not (here’s an abbreviated list) an autistic, learning disabled, ADHD, or any sort of a child with a disability can pass a standardized, norm-referenced, etc. test is outrageous and irrational. You can’t compare education to football and expect anyone with a sensible mind to take you seriously. And yet the tragedy is…people obviously are.

    Steve, you need to re-evaluate your thinking. Spend some time actually teaching instead of being “one of those” administrators who doesn’t understand how a class works. Good day to you.

  10. @Anthony Tate
    Greetins…

    Birds of a feather should flock together…I would love to dialog with you and invite you as a guest to my Blog Talk Radio Show…

    I was informed that Dr. Perry do not do Blog Talk Radio Shows, needless to say that really rubbed me the wrong way…I was like, Excuse me. in fact Bill Cosby did a show from Blog Talk Radio…

    I shall not make a judgement, I have an interest in what you are saying…One Million…I have a vision to raise One Million Dollars to Giveaway…by selling One Million Pies in a day…A chamber member in Memphis Laughed in my face when I shared my idea… At least you and I are creators… Money is not my motivation, the empowerement of others empowering others who feel lost, and seeing no way out is what motivates me…

    So if you are serious about your vision let us them reason together, and perhaps when we have a working model Dr. Perry and others will be more receptive to what we have to offer…

    emahsarah@gmail.com
    http://www.blogtalkradio.com/doctor-emah-sarah

    I believe in starting where you are using what you have to create what you want…This offer is open to any and all you who truly want to make a difference, not motivated by money or media…

    Respect Light Love=Peace

    doctor emah sarah

  11. @knowsmore
    You can lead a horse to water and motivate it to drink. If you have a student who is hungry you feed them. I always had food in my class for any child who was hungry. You can teach a special ed student to make progress. You can teach a bully to have empathy. You can take an abused child out of an abusive situation. You can teach their parents better parenting skills. First, you have to be non-judgemental and provide them with the skills in a compassionate manner. I have done all these things on my own and not with the help of others in my school district. You as a teacher must take it upon yourself to provide what each student needs so that learning can take place. They will be motivated to listen and learn if you first and foremost show them that you truly do care.

    Sincerely,
    Lisa
    P.S. I would like to see competition between each classroom teacher within every school. I would also like parents and students to have a choice in who their public school teacher is for the school year. I would like to see teachers research what the best curriculum is for each student and then write a cover letter about their teaching philosophy, so that the parents and students can make an informed choice. I would like to see teachers paid based on how many students they are able to attract to their classroom. Then and only then will you see teachers actually teaching effectively.

  12. Steve:
    Excellent start, how about extending the school day to international standards?
    In The Netherlands we start class at 8:30 and continue till 4:30, all academics, except for 2 hrs gym/week, 1hr music/wk, 1hr art/wk.
    At the end of 12th grade the top 15% goes on to graduate school (no need for college). In particular for women it is attractive to get their education done early.
    Marc J Yland

  13. THIS IS INTERESTING, I HAVE A CHILD AT CAPITOL PREP. I DONT BELIEVE THE SCHOOL THINGS CHILDREN THERE SHOULD NEED ANY EXTRA HELP, IM IN THE PROCESS OF TRYING TO GET EXTRA SERVICES FOR MY CHILD, BUT IT IS DIFFICULT.. THEY DONT WANT CHILDREN WITH ANY LEARNING DISABILITY TO RUIN THEOR PERFECT REPUTATION.. THEY HAVE A STRICT POLICY, IF YOU FAIL TWO CLASSES YOU ARE ASKED TO FORFIT YOUR SEAT AT THE SCHOOL. THEY PREACH THEY WANT TO HELP THE MINORITIES, ALL THIS BLACK ON BLACK IN AMERICA.

  14. It’s easy to promote tough love in the private sector but in the public schools when teachers’ can’t say this, can’t do that, can’t keep them for longer than this period of time, parents won’t check homework, won’t/can’t discipline, parents are dysfunctional and producing dysfunctional children, parents say “I speak no English “ and wash their hands of being a support and responsible for a portion of the education of their own children, students have more rights than adults in the building, etc.
    Are we ever going to have the guts to say “Parents are a major part of students’ failure to become educated? And once someone has the guts to say it, will we be able to hold them accountable through cutting tax breaks, funding (stamps, money, vouchers, housing, etc.)?

  15. Dear perry
    thank you for your good job for kids! i’m mother of four kids age 14,11,7 and 4! for the past two and half years i send my oldest son to Africa for better education it was very hard for my family but i have to do it for my son! very hard to believe but my son is 100% better in African school than American school! and this summer i wait to bring my son back home! pls i need to point out to America people, how can American boy goes to Africa for better education? pls help my…. thank you

  16. Dear prerry
    I’M mother of 4 kids for ! the past two and half years one of my son been going to Africa for better education! it was very hard for my family but i have to do it for my son, very hard to believe but my son is 100% better in African school than here! this summer i wait to bring him back home. pls i need to point out to American people ,how can American boy goes to Africa for better education? pls help me.thank you!!!

  17. My son is a teacher,recently certified to be a principal. He can’t get a job teaching in NY.mainly because they are laying off teachers. He gets subsitute jobs,being the only black teacher in the school. He has tenure,10 yrs or more.I don’t really think that black male or female teacher are wanted,just lipservice,he can’t support his family of six and is in mortgage trouble.Any help for him.

  18. hi.principle perry i watched u on your show a whilw back for the first time. and last year we had a group of 5th grade /at the school where i work an wonted to offer you and open invite too give the students a pep talk about school. life .an success. Because there too much out there too offer younger kids .An id ld love for u too call my Boss/princple maybe u could just fly down for the 4/5th Graduation and encourage them alittle bit. I`d more than happy too Let Him know I`d emailed You too come motivate the kids. even if they havent seen u like i have an have u help differnt people too succeed..Ipray you be able too do this for me/us. Im 46yrs old a single .widow mom 2son,s.Worked at my job for 22.years

  19. hi principle perry could u please come to my job an give the 4/5th graders a pep talk i watch u help children could u please comme..im in Tallahasse.Fl.june 3rd is our last day this maybe a short notice.i could give my boss number or info .once i let him know i contacted u. too com. Im46yrs a single widow mom of 2son`s .

  20. Mr. Perry, I think you are a marvelous educator,who is well tuned into what is happening with our education system. There are many retired teachers and principals who should volunteer to be mentors for the many needy children in this world. You do not have to be only available to those in your immediate family, but step in to assist in any way possible in your community or city. Please post on your website things that seniors can do to be helpful to educating our children. Good luck and may God continue to give you guidance in your endeavor.

  21. DEAR STEVE,
    I’M ATTENDING COLLEGE IN THE FALL OF THIS YEAR. AT A COMMUNITY COLLEGE IN TEXAS. THE PROGRAM THAT I’M INTERESTED IN IS HOSPITALITY MANAGEMENT / TRAVEL AND TOURISM.
    I HAVE TO TAKE COLLEGE ALGEBRA.
    I’VE NEVER TAKEN ALGEBRA,BEFORE.
    I GRADUATED FROM HIGH SCHOOL IN 1973. BASIC MATH WAS OUR MATH BACK THEN. NOW I HAVE A PROBLEM , I DON’T KNOW WHERE TO TURN AND GET HELP .
    I NEED TO START FROM THE VERY BASIC WHEN IT COME”S TO ALGEBRA. LIKE ELEMENTARY SCHOOL,OR JUNIOR HIGH.
    STEVE, CAN YOU HELP ME. PLEASE
    I REALLY WANT TO ATTEND COLLEGE, MORE SO I WANT TO GRADUATE FROM FROM COLLEGE.

    THANK YOU
    JACKIE

  22. Dr. Perry is the Principal of a “magnet” school. Students have to apply to attend!! I am an educator in S.C. and every magnet school that I know of has a 100% graduation rate. How many exceptional education, multi-year repeaters, or teen-age mothers does he serve? This past year he had a graduating class of approximately 40 students. If his program is as successful as he says, why is he not serving more students. How does that compare with a school that serves every student that shows up. I read on Capital Preps website that their capacity is 700 students, yet he only graduates 40 seniors. Dr. Perry is excellent at self-promoting, but definitely not an educational expert.

  23. Hello Principal Perry,

    I saw your spot on CNN today regarding financial education in high school, or lack of it. I wanted to inform you of a Finance and Investment Program my public high school has in place and invite your students to get involved.

    I have a group of roughly 20 students that are passionate about finance and dedicated to growing my school’s real-money student-managed investment portfolio. My students meet weekly and online via our forum/skype meetings. They make 100% of our investment decisions and are doing very well over the last three years. We’ve actually been looking for another school to help us manage part of our portfolio. The partnership will increase student financial knowledge, improve communication skills, and broaden a student’s network with business oriented individuals that could potentially open doors for one-another in the future.

    You can view our organizations web site @ charitystudentinvestmentproject.com or forward this information to your teacher in-charge of business or finance at your school.

    Thank you for showing America all that is great about our educators. All to often the only portrail of educators seen in the news is negative one. Your dedication to education and success in providing it is helping change popular opinion about our profession.

    Todd Benrud

Leave a Reply

