R.I.P. Bernie Mac

Bernie Mac one of the baddest comedians around, died at Northwestern Memorial hospital early Saturday morning, according to Sun-Times Columnist, Stella Foster. He was 50.

Though the cause of death has not been confirmed, Mac had been hospitalized recently for pneumonia. Foster said that she received calls early Saturday morning from a close friend of the Mac family, confirming the reports of Mac’s death.

The columnist also said she was deeply saddened to receive such a phone call just an hour after Mac was pronounced dead.

“It brought tears to my eyes because Bernie Mac has always been my all-time favorite entertainer and comedian. It pains me to have to report that,” Foster said during a phone interview on Saturday morning.

On Friday, a spokeswoman for the actor, whose real name is, Bernard McCullough, said that he had been responding well to treatment for the illness.

Publicist Danica Smith said Thursday in a statement that Mac’s condition is ”stable.” Smith first announced on August 1st that Mac was hospitalized in Chicago.

Smith said Mac’s pneumonia wasn’t related to an inflammatory lung disease Mac also had. That condition was in remission since 2005.

One thought on “R.I.P. Bernie Mac

  1. Hi,

    I was diagnoised with sarcodosis when i was 35 yrs, i’m now 47. All the docs could tell me was that i was a black female and not too much was known, it took some time before they knew what was going on, i wasn’t feeling well for about 6 months. I had persistant cough, difficult breathing, feeling of fatigue, loss of weight and zerostomia(dry mouth) i had other wise been healthy. It all started one summer evening when my chest was hurting in the area of the sterum. Long story short being a military spouse, doctors in a major metal center could not find anything wrong ,dismissed it as stress related….it took traveling to our next assignment (Alconbury England) and a wonderful military doctor (Steven Mikel) to diagnosis and treat me after ordering my chest x-ray whilst arriving in the country. I have been in remission since 94, i’m thinking that maybe Bernie had several organs affected my sardosis, i only had my lung and was able to stop it before it got out of hand. I thank God for sending around the world and placing Dr. Steven Mikel there USAF to help save me!

Leave a Reply

